Ode to the Burnt Finger

July 15, 2007 at 1:29 pm 5 comments

Dedication: This poem is dedicated to my sweet little friend Kasturi Moitra. I wrote this when, in attempt to cook, she burnt her finger while staying as a paying guest in New Delhi. Since this was her first intentional disaster outside her home town, I decided to provide condolences . . . . I am not sure whether the poem can be taken in that mood, however! ๐Ÿ˜› Here it must be mentioned that our friendship began as co-passengers in a train from Calcutta to New Delhi when she was leaving home for the first time in her life to pursue her undergraduate studies.


Far away from home in a city quite strange
A trรจs belle petite girl starts to arrange
Her room in the PG.
Not as far as Fiji,
But from Calcutta to DU — that’s quite a range!

Far away from home by train she did come.
Away from her friends, her granny and her mum.
Even though her granny did
Cry, and her splendid
Mother had her tears hid,
She with her strength made woe unbecome.

Unfortunately, she decided to cook!
(There must be a reason in a cranny or a nook.)
I don’t know what happened.
(Her concentration slackened?)
The act had a black end end:
Her finger with the burn was a sight worth a look!

How did it happen? It must have been nasty!
I ask as a compensation, was the food tasty?
Oh aspiring sophomore*
To you I do implore
The burn could have more
The dainty little finger of the beautiful Kasty.

Glossary:

  • DU is Delhi University, one of the better educational institutions in India.
  • PG is a commonly used acronym for paying guest, quite a common form of accomodation all over India for students and/or workers who come from out of town.
  • aspiring sophomore since she was in her first year of undergraduate studies.
  • Kasty, the name by which Kasturi is known among her friends. Personal opinion — I think it is a genuinely unbeautiful modification of her name.
ยฉ Ritwik Banerjee


Creative Commons License

Ode to the Burnt Finger by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.


Entry filed under: friends, humour, life, Poetry.

Can we change who we are? Home

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. harmonie22  |  July 16, 2007 at 3:32 am

    Seems like yesterday was the day for humor for every1 ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. pinkemeralds  |  July 16, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Poor Kasturi, how’s her finger? Such a nice friend to create such a friendly, sweet and humorous poem in her honor. Ur a good friend… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply: The incident is over two years old. I found my old diary where I had written it, and I also met her recently after a long time. These two things prompted me to post this. And thank you Pink Emeralds for the nice things you said about me. ๐Ÿ™‚
    – Ritwik

    Reply
  • 3. silentdreams  |  July 17, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Oh, how I can relate to the tale of Kasturi. Scared little girls pertending to be women. I was in that same position not too long ago. Thank you for making me smile tonight. You are a blessing on such sad and silent nights.

    Reply: This phase in a woman’s life is something I always found so beautiful. The metamorphosis of a girl into a woman. There are so many nuances of such a change . . . I wish I was good enough to express it. The world becomes beautiful as soon as you wish to realize it that way . . . put a little effort and no night shall ever be sad.
    – Ritwik

    Reply
  • 4. Charles Rey  |  July 17, 2007 at 9:11 am

    You show some legit skill there son! Write more of that for us.

    Reply: Thank you Charles. I just read your review of my blog as well. Such encouragement means a lot to a new blogger like me. I will try my best to keep a reader like satisfied with newer prose and poetry.
    – Ritwik

    Reply
  • 5. Incorrigible Introvert  |  April 30, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Now that was nice, and funny.

    Reply: Even I thought it was nice and funny! Thank you! In fact, I still think it is nice and funny!! I insist on these two qualities . . . but then, this poem has also made ‘people’ a whee bit jealous!

    ritwik

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 133,760

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


