Crossroads

August 12, 2007 at 5:18 am 4 comments

Those of you who’ve read the previous post will know exactly what I am questioning. Others will know once they read the prose and understand what I question here.


In her tears I see the joy
that surrounds the birth of a child.
In her confusion I realize the slow hesitant
awakening of the morning glory.
In the pain of her reluctant steps forward
I feel her nostalgia for the path
that lies behind her.
In the pristine impatience of her steps forward
I see the glory that lies ahead.

The journey is meant for her
and for her alone.
She who walks so gracefully on that path.

What am I doing here,
standing on her crossroads?

© 2007 Ritwik Banerjee


Creative Commons License

Crossroads by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.


Entry filed under: aesthetics, art, childhood, life, literature, perspective, Poetry, prose, woman. Tags: .

Standing on her crossroads The ignominy of

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janice Thomson  |  August 12, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    To me some prose causes the same reaction as poetry. For instance in ‘Crossroads’ the feelings, imagery, understanding, recognition and appreciation, and the quality of getting lost in the words, was the same for both styles of writing. True some prose is more of a story with a beginning and an ending while some poetry is more about creating a specific image. I guess what I am saying is that in the end I look for the beauty and/or awe that any writing style can create. If it has affected my feelings then it has served its purpose well.

    Reply: I could not have agreed more with you, Janice. Literature, by virtue of being an intrinsic aspect of art, is eventually about beauty. Like any other form of art, it cannot and should not conform to boundaries and rigid definitions. No matter how we try to classify the different ways in which pulchritude is evoked, there will always be instances where such classification is transcended.
    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 2. Anupama  |  August 14, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    you write beautifully and i bless the love that inspires you to write it.

    Reply: Thanks Anupama. The blessed is smiling sitting next to me right now …. so I guess your blessings worked! 🙂

    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 3. enreal  |  August 17, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Again I state your ways with words are unique…I enjoyed this. Thank you

    Reply
  • 4. rukmini banerjee  |  August 24, 2007 at 9:07 am

    da dear i loved this poem
    read ‘the phantom of her delight’ you might like it.its somewhat similar.

    Reply: I first wrote this as a prose, and then as poetry, without changing the words. I remember The Phantom of Her Delight. I had liked that poem when I had read it — about a decade ago I guess! Nice to see you in my blog! Aami bhebechhilaam tor jonyo shob tangent jaabe! 🙂

    Ritwik

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 132,664

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


