Singleton

October 31, 2007 at 6:07 am 4 comments

Well, my friends, here I am. Back with a rather short poem. I also put up a page called I Am Always Write where I talk about a few little things that offer no significant consequences to anything except for my writings.


Smell the sun that wipes away tired sweat
from the circling seagulls’ pearl white wings.
The careening dust as the cattle returns home.
While the orange crown sets on your exposed laughter,
revel in your throne.

Taste the divine dance of a full moon night
on the beautiful blackness of the ocean’s mouth.
In the beyonds of unconfined darkness’ call
lies elephant cries from the deepest mists.
They are your own.

Ā© 2007 Ritwik Banerjee

Creative Commons License

Singleton by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Entry filed under: art, life, literature, loneliness, Poetry. Tags: , , .

Adieu . . . . Solitude

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Life's Elsewhere  |  October 31, 2007 at 6:56 am

    Well, well! Look who is back! Welcome back from a very long hiatus! šŸ˜‰
    …because I also boomed that I won’t post again for the time being and need a break (even thought of shutting the sucker down. receiving lots of craps).

    Reply: Yes! I saw the comments on your posts on the Rizwanur-Priyanka issue. I couldn’t believe what some of those guys are saying! I felt like chipping in, but didn’t want to add fuel to the fire within the premises of your blog.

    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 2. Life's Elsewhere  |  October 31, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Could have done that; would have spared me from more furious typing!
    šŸ™‚

    I don’t have any qualms regarding the sudden mutation of my blog into a topical one; but now it is being difficult to return to my earlier poetic blog-self…
    Primarily because of these unwanted attentions (you see less than half of the craps, I am inundated with hate-mails and trolls!) who will now intrude and comment on my literary ventures too…and I am sure that they will hate my innocuous Blong (Bong Blog!) posts too, ’cause the blog was meant to be a radical looking back at Love and Art which began rather humbly and patiently.
    I am just – again – patiently waiting for these unwanted attention to die down; my hard luck that this little blog has turned out to be one of the major sources of informations and opinions regarding the event.

    Incidentally, planning a long comment on your new page; for a starter: I am not sure how poetry can be bad, but I am sure why a poem is good.

    Reply: šŸ™‚ I await your comment on it. As far as your blog is concerned, you can moderate the comments so that they are publicly visible only after your approval.

    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 3. Janice Thomson  |  November 2, 2007 at 12:21 am

    Welcome back!
    This actually gave me chills Ritwik as I have heard the cry of an elephant and found that to be a rather apt analogy especially thinking back on some of my own life experiences.

    Reply: The cry of an unseen elephant rumbling past you as you stand facing an impenetrable forest. There is nothing but the experience itself that can describe it. It gives me the most extraordinary goosebumps!

    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 4. harmonie22  |  November 3, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Ritwik, I simply loved this. Your images are getting more powerful by the minute (I’ve said this before haven’t I ?). I especially enjoyed the authoritative tone of the poem, how you make the reader find themselves in the poem. My favorite stanza is this:

    While the orange crown sets on your exposed laughter,
    revel in your throne.

    Beautiful.

    On another note: the thing about blogging when you are a poet is that sometimes you may feel pressured to post- because after all there is the social element of blogging- and in giving into that you may take away from your ‘creative inspiration.’ I don’t know about you but this holds true for me. I’ve though many a time about stopping blogging myself but then I creep back to it when I have something I want to share. Remember that your art comes first, and your blogger buddies will always come back time to time to see what treasures you have laid out for us to enjoy. Thank you for the latest.

    Reply: Thank you Harmonie for your comment. I always find something to cherish in the remarks you make on my poems. I always find something new.
    I quite agree with the point you raise here. I find myself under pressure when I cannot find inspiration to write. The social aspect of blogging plays a part in that. But more importantly, I find myself to be stagnating when the creative inspiration is absent. I loath myself for becoming so dependent on natural sources of inspiration. A true artist should be able to pen down a joyous poem even when the happiness is not directly his/her own. I say directly because a true artist carries a sensitivity that enables him to associate with the joys and sorrows of other beings, identifying those other beings, albeit momentarily, with himself/herself. I have a long way to go in that direction. I can identify sometimes, but not always. So, my point is, that other than the social pressure of blogging, I also suffer under an internal pressure of stagnation arising from lack of sensitivity/creativity.

    ritwik

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 136,212

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


