Floating Dreams

January 27, 2008 at 1:42 pm 5 comments

A breeze flies to me, luscious yet unkind,
tosses around my well-laid life
and melts across the horizons.
My poems remain; their manuscripts float
disheveled in forgotten spaces behind.

Perhaps an unblemished moon in my skies.
With immaculate strokes of pen I draw
a nose and a handful of wrinkles on her face.
And all the stars of all new-moon nights
twinkle with delight in their impish sighs.

Certain dreams I so carefully build,
fall apart in a disturbing clamour.
In multitudes of dazzling colours,
in a sheath of rainbow hues
stays hidden my desired image.

A different dream I dream now.
A different picture I paint.
Like the different creaks of a creaking wheel
the difference sounds so quaint.
As time goes by and times come back,
spiteful, the sounds return as well.
I sit, pen down the forever new
as the past of forgotten spaces swell.

© 2007 Ritwik Banerjee

Creative Commons License

Floating Dreams by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Entry filed under: art, life, literature, Poetry. Tags: , , .

Urban Wilderness J Krishnamurti and Yogavaasishta

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. poetryman69  |  January 28, 2008 at 2:09 am

    moon blessings

    moon peace

    Reply
  • 2. S. Khan  |  January 28, 2008 at 9:10 am

    My favorite. Powerful.

    Reply: Thank you! Actually, even this one is a translation from my original poem in Bengali . . . . and as usual, I hate the translation. I don’t think I will ever be able to translate properly! 😦

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 3. sea of memories  |  February 1, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    “My poems remain; their manuscripts float
    disheveled in forgotten spaces behind.”…..

    If the translated lines hit home like this, I wonder how powerful the original is!!!!! And Ritwik please stop saying you hate the translations 🙂

    Reply: Thank you my lady! But I am helpless, I do hate my translations. I really do. Now that I think of it, a better translation from the original comes to mind. Please allow me the liberty to change that word in your comment as well.

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 4. sea of memories  |  February 2, 2008 at 2:41 am

    ok when do you start the bengali lessons? Enroll me for sure!

    Reply: I certainly will 🙂 . . . . I promise!

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 5. Saima Afreen  |  June 26, 2008 at 5:51 am

    Lovely! A beautiful painting in words…I could hear the soft notes mingling with the gushing river that reflected a myriad colours…

    Reply: Thanks Saima! I am glad you liked this poem . . . hope to see you again. 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 132,664

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


