Suspension

May 24, 2008 at 1:23 pm 4 comments

I had thought of writing of all that is bad.
A blackness gushing out from streams of ink.
I had thought of opening my tired eyes, and perceive
a famished myopic twilight.
I had thought of floating away in the streams, too.
Of losing my mind, body, heart. And ruptured,
I had thought of falling in love with the silent
tortures of pains that have ceased to hurt;

love: embodiment of formless riots

A clan of tired poets had taught me
to embrace the shameful,
to empathize in unfeeling sepulchrals,
to forget the slight smiles of simple joys.

And I, in my senseless youth had drowned
in the deafening applause of loveless hands.
And I, in frenzy, had nailed masks
on the wrinkles on my cheek.
Behind that mask and under that roar
had I imprisoned my human?

Had I known of another black, craving for me?
Searching for my childish gurgles?
Lusting to wash all my colours
with its lull of unseemly permanence?

I await the call of ancient bards
in eager dewdrop suspensions.
I await their nudge,
I await my love-weak poet to write
a few lines —
happy in their meaninglessness.
I await a splash of forbidden colours
filled with the radiance of infant rhythms!

© 2007 Ritwik Banerjee

Creative Commons License

Suspension by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Entry filed under: art, literature, Poetry. Tags: .

Bohr’s Horseshoe Low Tide

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Life's Elsewhere  |  May 24, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    You are struggling so long Ritwik, in the midst of a tug-of-war between poetry of happiness and poetry of unhappiness. Probably, I belonged to the other side of the fence… But in my last few posts I understood that I was moving in the wrong path: I can’t afford to write about unhappiness for so long a time…
    I am sleepy my friend and I am muddled up! 🙂 But every lines you pen, I am reading you!

    Reply: I really think my essential struggle is between poetry and pseudo-poetry . . . I hate this poem, for example . . . even the original Bengali did not seem quite right. However, you find it here in my blog as I hope to receive some criticisms.

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 2. Nikhil  |  May 26, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Very nice! This one touches the core of the heart… I can hear you almost calling out for reason! 🙂
    Good job…

    Reply: Thank you Nikhil 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 3. S. Khan  |  May 28, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    There is nothing wrong with writing about the pain as well as the pleasure.

    Reply: Of course there isn’t. On an abstract philosophical plane, there is nothing wrong at all! 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 4. sea of memories  |  June 12, 2008 at 5:03 am

    You’re right about this poem Ritwik….it does’nt seem quite right even in translation. Maybe you could have this one, and the one after this, posted on a separate page ! They really don’t gel with your earlier poems/translations.

    Reply: Thanks for the suggestion C, I am actually planning to rewrite these two . . . waiting for the correct words to seep into my brain . . . hopefully the page will see better works soon!

    ritwik

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 136,212

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


