Home for the Buried

September 5, 2008 at 12:26 pm 11 comments

That place, which I had even called
home at times.
That place where, in the end,
only your absence lingers on
and a strand of your hair on the pillow
carves out tears,
is suddenly full of only memories.

Everything familiar was so rapidly
devoured by the past —
today remains only a ghost of her herself.
Leaving only my stench in her vanishing act.

How I drag my body
from one wall to another,
clumsily colliding with wash-basins and mirrors
in the narrow corridor.
How I make the carcass crawl
in search of candle lights
amidst fluttering pages of poetry
and a rose gone a tad too dry.

How I yearn for a future around the corner.
The corner outside the reaches of memories.
The corner where some unknown witch
has burnt the last figments of you.
The corner that surfaces after burying
the father, the son and the lover
in a single coffin.

How bitter will my laughter be?

How bitter will my laughter be
when I call that corner home?

Β© 2007 Ritwik Banerjee

Creative Commons License

Home for the Buried by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Entry filed under: art, emotions, life, literature, pain, Poetry.

Still My Paradise The Premio Dardos Award

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sea of memories  |  September 7, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Strange but I felt a coldness creep up while reading this one…something eerily familiar about the poem….don’t know what exactly though. Maybe it’s the last line.

    Reply: Eerily familiar? Could that mean my poems are getting repetitive? That’s one pit I never wish to enter! Or is it something outside my short list of poems that is nudging your sea of memories? Wrote this one in intense pain. I hope you like it (apart from the eerily familiar factor).

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 2. sea of memories  |  September 10, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Something nudging my sea of memories….

    Reply
  • 3. anwin  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Hi, this is Anwin from the indiblogger team. I was wondering if you will be there at the kolkata bloggers meet on Sep 21. It would be great to meet you and other bloggers from Kolkata.

    More details and to sign up visit http://www.indiblogger.in/bloggermeet.php?id=14

    Cheers,
    Anwin (Indiblogger)

    Reply
  • 4. Tara  |  October 6, 2008 at 2:12 am

    Your written words here are are so beautiful. I felt each word come to life as I read it out loud. Just pain amongst the beauty. Truly lovely.

    Soft love,
    T

    Reply: Thank you Tara. πŸ™‚ This one was actually written while experiencing intense pain, en route to Delhi in a flight full of beautiful air-hostesses!

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 5. scorpria  |  October 14, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Wow! 😯
    creepy…yet lovely!

    Reply: Thanks a bunch! Now that you mention it, I can find the creepy element as well. Though it was not my initial intention to pen down that colour in the picture.

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 6. krkbaker  |  November 6, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    For me it’s as if the speaker is contemplating what it would feel like if the one he/she loves passed away, in the literal sense, as he/she has already experienced a metaphorical death when they lost the relationship. It takes pain one step further, as if going all the way through the fire will give way to possible healing. I also got the image of a like an injured roach. But that could just be me.
    πŸ™‚
    I didn’t realize I didn’t have you on my blogroll. So I just added you. Hope thats ok. I liked this piece a lot. It was deep and honest.

    Kim

    Reply: You have read this poem perfectly. It’s as if you sneaked into my mind when I was writing it. This means a lot to me, especially because it indicates that the words can be mapped back to the emotion that produced them. About the blog roll: it’s not only ok, it’s an honour! (please do excuse my British spelling!).

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 7. Tuttysan  |  November 6, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I can definitely read pain in this one. First, wondering if from homesickness, existencial loneliness… later it felt like heartbreak.

    Reply: Later you got it absolutely correct! πŸ™‚ Homesickness and a certain (perhaps existential) loneliness are also true, but they stem from the heart-break. Or so I thing in retrospect.

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 8. sea of memories  |  November 17, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Ritwik……i see you still haven’t written anything new. Time you updated…right? πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 9. Inam  |  January 9, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Very very thought-provoking, and soul-stirring. The wistfulness grows every line, and in the end turns you to stone. Great writing!

    Reply: Inam …. it is, as always, a pleasure to have your lines here as comments. I value them much!

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 10. Trinath  |  February 9, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    It is a beautiful piece . I liked the questioning in the last three lines. It was arresting.

    P.S : It has been a long time since you posted anything. I had your blog on my feed reader and was waiting for something !

    Reply
  • 11. Tali  |  May 14, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    Beautiful, I’m especially drawn to the second half of the first stanza, the intensity in the emotion is striking,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 135,300

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


