The Last Request

September 5, 2008 at 11:10 am 3 comments

Your absence becomes a ghost
and haunts the emptiness of my heart.
Perhaps even my mind, who knows?
You have been granted the power of what I am not.
Whenever I, as I know myself,
cease to be, I manifest your soul.
When my sensibilities follow you
into a highly personal oblivion,
my only request to you,
amidst my weaknesses,
is to grant me the tenderness of your grasp.

© 2007 Ritwik Banerjee

Creative Commons License

The Last Request by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Entry filed under: art, emotions, life, literature, pain, Poetry.

Vacillations Approved

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fitch  |  September 5, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    “When my sensibilities follow you into a highly personal oblivion, my only request to you, amidst my weaknesses, is to grant me the tenderness of your grasp.”

    That line alone could be a poem within itself! That is incredibly beautiful!

    Reply: I myself loved the way I ended this poem. And I don’t end up loving anything about my poems that often! Great to see that you liked these lines as much as I did!! 🙂 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 2. sea of memories  |  September 7, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    You know what I am going to say about this one Ritwik 🙂 “My kind of poetry”. The rawness of emotions is brilliant. I like I like…..

    Reply: 🙂 Thanks C !! I knew you would like this one. I was a little unhappy about the poem being too short, however.

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 3. sea of memories  |  September 8, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Ritwik I know this is going to sound rather cheeky but I could’nt resist. You must know size really does not matter when it comes to poetry.! 😉

    Reply: Course it doesn’t. I had this nagging feeling that it was slightly incomplete. But all that later. As of now, welcome back to . . . ummm . . . India! 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 132,664

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


