To a tear drop

July 19, 2007 at 7:00 am 11 comments

Tear

drop

soft on a flower
Swinging in the rhythm of a breeze softer still.
A moist ray of silver light
Finds its shimmer in that delicate little
Souvenir of sadness.

Never will I know how bitter is your silence.
Caustic rests on soft petal,
Which, trembling, gently holds the penance.
There was no need for your fall
For your sake

Rising from the depths of unknown innocence.
I, a solitary poet,
Sitting in the night on my garden fence,
Cannot but think
Your purpose is to nurture this calm radiance.

You were born in the womb of sadness.
You spasmed in brittle orgasms.
You live in my melancholy joy
As the moon guides us to an unperturbed land.

You are fragrant in your lightness of being.
You are liquid like the words in my heart.
You live in my melancholy joy
Until in the morning light you depart.

Ā© Ritwik Banerjee


Creative Commons License

To a tear drop by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.


Entry filed under: art, literature, Poetry.

Home Holy Smoke for the liberated

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shyma  |  July 19, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    Ah Melancholy joy!!! Loved this poem Ritwik.

    Reply: Thank you Shyma.
    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 2. S. Khan  |  July 19, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    Beautiful work. Very nice.

    Reply: Thanks for dropping by Schitzo . . . I hope to see you often! šŸ™‚
    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 3. Paul Knopfler  |  July 19, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    Pure harmony and rhythm on your poem, Ritwik. Like the quiet breath of twilight.

    Reply: Like the quiet breath of twilight . . . . even your comments are poetic Paul. Feels good to have a reader like you.
    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 4. alison  |  July 20, 2007 at 3:51 am

    I read your poetry with kleenex in hand. It’s a gift to be able to describe such beautiful sadness.

    My favorite line: Caustic rests on soft petal

    Ali

    Reply: THANK YOU in all capitals Ali. Your comment just made my day . . . šŸ™‚
    Ritwik

    P.S. You never provide the link to your blog when you comment šŸ˜¦

    Reply
  • 5. helenl  |  July 21, 2007 at 12:30 am

    Hi Ritwik, I really like this. I can only make a couple of suggestions. Why not begin with ” Tear/ drop/ soft on a flower” because you use “Caustic rests on soft petal” later? And in the lines “Finds its shimmer in that delicate little/
    Souvenir of some sadness” cut the words “little” and “some” and in “Rising from the depths of what unknown innocence” cut “what’.

    Now the good stuff:

    “Never will I know how bitter is your silence.
    Caustic rests on soft petal,
    Which, trembling, gently holds the penance.
    There was no need for your fall”

    and

    “You were born in the womb of sadness.
    You spasmed in brittle orgasms.
    You live in my melancholy joy
    As the moon guides us to an unperturbed land.

    You are fragrant in your lightness of being.
    You are liquid like the words in my heart.
    You live in my melancholy joy
    Until in the morning light you depart.”

    Lovely.

    Reply: Thank you for your insights Helen. All the changes you suggest make sense to me. I think they will make the poem more beautiful. But I am going to keep “little” because I wanted to make a note of the insignificance of this sorrow (and also that I have a thing for meter and rhyme). And I am glad you liked the last two stanzas. They are my favourites too!
    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 6. Arti Honrao  |  July 21, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    Beautiful!
    Thanks for dropping by at Straight From The Heart.
    You have a decent place here šŸ™‚ Just went through a few posts, will be back again!

    GBU
    Arti

    Reply: It was good to hear from you Arti. Hope to see you again soon!
    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 7. harmonie22  |  July 22, 2007 at 4:40 am

    I never commented on this one. Beautiful. You captured that profound reflection of melancholy (which gives rise to great poetry) in a tear drop. Lovely images. This is my favorite poem of yours so far.

    Reply
  • 8. harmonie22  |  July 22, 2007 at 4:41 am

    And fun visuals with the title too.

    Reply: Actually I wanted it to be read continuously, the title itself beginning the first line of the poem . . . as in . . . “To a tear drop …. “.
    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 9. Janice Thomson  |  July 22, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Gosh Ritwik what a lovely site you have. I have enjoyed browsing and look forward to coming back.
    Beautifully written poem. I too love the lines, ‘caustic rests on soft petal’ and also ‘spasmed in brittle orgasms.’ – such imagery these lines evoke. You have great talent as a poet.

    Reply: Thank you Janice. I am glad you liked the Evergreen Leaves. šŸ™‚
    Ritwik

    Reply
  • 10. enreal  |  September 2, 2007 at 2:46 am

    Beautiful words. As if to music on the rain.

    Reply
  • 11. Murti  |  August 3, 2010 at 8:35 am

    Never will I know how bitter is your silence. Nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 135,300

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


