Fingertips

March 27, 2008 at 10:19 am 10 comments

Even before I open my love-sick eyes,
before I see the first rays of sun
hitting my dreamy paradise,
before the salt of ocean mists
carry their forlorn caress to me,
within my arms I feel the colours
of my lover’s entwined sighs.

In front of me the open oceans
and the deepest, bluest skies
tear each other apart in liaisons.
Divine in the beauty of their dances
raindrops shed on me below.
Underneath the seashore clouds
in enchanting blackness, slow,
I see my lover’s clasps and moans as
in my heart she begins to flow.

Even before I hear the thunder,
or the rush of brown dry leaves,
or the sound of thrashing waves
and the sands of coy retreats,
before I hear the careful drops
of a sweet rain’s water in my sleep,
my memories run to hear the sound
of her loving fingertips.

© 2007 Ritwik Banerjee

Creative Commons License

Fingertips by
Ritwik Banerjee is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Entry filed under: adulthood, art, emotions, life, literature, love, Poetry, woman. Tags: , .

J Krishnamurti and Yogavaasishta Bohr’s Horseshoe

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Life's Elsewhere  |  March 27, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Applauses! 🙂

    Reply: Humble bows! 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 2. rick mobbs  |  March 28, 2008 at 5:19 am

    beautiful and soothing

    Reply: Thank You Rick. 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 3. enreal  |  March 28, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    This piece is powerful and moving. The words are delicate and pure. Very nice work.

    Reply: You are right Enreal, this one does carry a particularly delicate air about it.

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 4. Inam  |  April 3, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Your poem offers peace, and this is what makes it beautiful. Peace is so hard to find at this violent moment, and you have found it with ease.

    Reply: Inam, I am glad you said this. I have already had an antipathy towards angry or painful poetry. This antipathy comes because I am in love with the idea of producing angelic beauty. Having written a few poems on subjects like pain, shame, etc, I understand the importance of that poetry, but I am uncomfortable with the idea of conforming to it. The peace in this poem should be attributed to this girl . . . my poems are often a conscious antithesis to her creations.

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 5. Life's Elsewhere  |  April 3, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Great conversation between Ritwik and Inam. (If I can’t blog about it, I will definitely write something here)

    Reply: You are always welcome Anindya, not matter where you write! 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 6. sea of memories  |  April 3, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    ((((( Sigh)))))))

    Reply: I hope that sigh was not out of boredom!

    ritwik

    Reply
  • […] I am not being able to I give my friend’s words to you If not my verses, not my tune It is still yours, ’cause it’s […]

    Reply: That was the most beautiful recognition I have ever received. Touched, really.

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 8. Saro  |  April 5, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Ritwik, please tell me that you have been published. . . or you are considering it? Your words are eloquent and mesmerizing.

    Saro

    Reply: Dear Saro, you are too kind! But, yes, I have been thinking about publishing my poems for some time now. But the world publication has a lot to do with contacts, marketing stunts, etc. So, in order to enjoy my writing, I shall probably stick to my lovely readers such as you. 🙂

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 9. sea of memories  |  April 5, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Oh no, din’t want to say the obvious about how the words hit home etc ….. i sat and read each word and sighed. 🙂

    Reply: Well, that sounds good! 🙂 Flattered, as usual!!

    ritwik

    Reply
  • 10. Rye  |  May 25, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Aha ki apurbo kobita ta….

    Aamar darun legechhe bujhli…
    🙂
    smiles for thee!

    Reply: jene aanondo pay-loom! 🙂

    dada

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


others do

Distant visitors . . .

Visitor count

  • 136,212

If you have liked this blog, then


  • Feed on Leaves: 
  • With Feedburner
  • With bloglines Subscribe with Bloglines

Blog Directories


